Auto ads

Wednesday 23 October 2019

MUSIC: Paul Johnson - 'Fearless' EP - co-produced by Daz-I-Kue (Bugz in the Attic)

British singer Paul Johnson – a part of popular pioneering UK gospel band Paradise, LCGC and previously collaborating with legendary music acts such as Soul II Soul, Bryan Ferry, Mica Paris and M-People – has released his new EP ‘Fearless’.

Featuring six tracks of uplifting, soulful house and Paul’s distinctive, emotive vocals, the EP was co-produced by Daz-I-Kue from the world renowned, west London DJ and production crew Bugz in the Attic who have released numerous singles and worked on remixes for the likes of Amy Winehouse and Macy Gray. The EP is the long awaited follow up to Paul Johnson’s classic track ‘Better Than This’ with its seminal mixes from Dego & Kaidi, 2000Black and Frankie Knuckles.

Speaking on the EP, Paul Johnson said:

“I am still able in my darkest moments to recognise that chink of light that represents hope and makes me thankful. I know too that I have not arrived this far on my journey without the love and support of people who have touched my life. I have been blessed and inspired in a manner that compels me to impart whatever I have learnt to those willing to listen. ‘Blessed’ is in tribute to those who have been and gone and those who remain constant and true. It is a call for us all to be an instrument for positive change.

I still reminisce on my days with my brothers who were part of gospel band Paradise (Top 40 hit record, ‘One Mind Two Hearts’). ‘Follow’ takes me back to those times of ‘jheri curls’, Hawaiian shirts and stylish Farah slacks. It was a time when things seemed so much simpler and when faith was strong. It is the most intentional gospel track on the EP and an opportunity for me go back to the origins of my joy.”

Born and raised in London before spending some years in the US, Paul Johnson started his singing career in his local church which led to him being a part of the UK gospel band Paradise, LCGC and then signing to CBS Records in the late 80s as a solo artist and – also being influenced by soul, jazz, funk and gospel music - working with the likes of Stevie Wonder, Frankie Knuckles, Shaun Escoffery, Juliet Roberts and M People along the way. His new EP is a true testament to his influences and journey so far!

Track list:
1. Fearless – (Daz-i-Kue Mix)
2. Follow
3. Blessed – (Boldeau Mix)
4. Less Said
5. Victory
6. Fearless – (L&C Original Mix)

1 comment:

  1. Wonderful to hear Paul Johnson is still out there and great to discover some new music from a guy who I thought released some outstanding music toward the end of the 80s