Auto ads

Monday 9 June 2014


The fourth edition of the MTV Africa Music Awards has proved itself as the biggest awards show in Africa and will not leave the minds of guests and the millions of people who watched the show live.

The event, which held on Saturday, June 7, 2014 at the International Conference Centre in Durban, South Africa witnessed exciting experiences including live performances by Fally Ipupa, Michael Lowman, Don Jazzy, DJ Clock, Beatenberg, D’Banj, Burna Boy, Ice Prince, Sarkodie, Dr Sid, French Montana, Miguel, Trey Songz, Davido, Uhuru, Mafikizolo, Oskido, Professor, Tiwa Savage, Flavour, Diamond, Phyno among many others.

The awards which aired live on MTV Base also had different highlights including a moving acoustic guitar tribute to Nelson Mandela by Afro-Soul star Simphiwe Dana, Marlon Wayans’ grand entrance at the beginning of the show with a blinged-up rickshaw as well as an Acappello mash up by Ladysmith Black Mambazo. The show later ended with all the artists assembled on stage for a medley of French Montana songs including “Pop That”, “Freaks” and “Ain’t Worried About Nothin!”

Davido who won the awards for Artiste of the Year and Best Male said… “I am so grateful to God and my fans… I am just 21 years old and I’m living my dreams… Thank you Africa”

Speaking after the show, Alex Okosi, Senior Vice President & Managing Director, Viacom International Media Networks (VIMN) Africa, said: “MAMA 2014 was truly spectacular and a true testament to the passion, commitment and creativity of contemporary music, youth culture and achievement on the African continent.”

Commenting Desmond Golding, Head of Department of Economic Development & Tourism, KZN Province, "The MTV Africa Music Awards KwaZulu-Natal has fulfilled all its great promise in terms of spectacle, star power and bringing the eyes of the world onto our great province. We congratulate the winners, nominees and performers on a truly spectacular evening of entertainment. Through cultural events of this magnitude, we underline the stature of KwaZulu-Natal as a leading destination for tourism, economic development and cultural experiences."

Celebrity guests who presented the awards include French Montana, D’Banj, Nomzamo Mbatha, Goldfish, DJ Fresh, John Vlismas, Kajal Bagwandeen, Emmanuel Adebayo, DJ Edu, Minnie Dlamini, Sizwe Dhlomo, Dorcas Shola Fapson, DJ C’ndo, Efya, Mocheddah and Riaad Moosa.

Nigerian winners at the MAMAs include Davido who won Best Male and Artist of the Year, Flavour, Tiwa Savage and Clarence Peters took home Transform Today by Absolut, and Best Video. Nigerian guests at the awards also include Kenny Ogungbe, Ayo Animashaun, Nana Otedola, Toke Makinwa, Mannie, DJ Zeez, Patoranking Mocheddah, TeeBillz among many others.


Best Male: Davido (Nigeria)
Best Female: Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)
Best Group: Mafikizolo (South Africa)
Best New Act: Stanley Enow (Cameroon)
Best Live Act: Flavour (Nigeria)
Best Collaboration: “Y-tjukutja” - Uhuru Ft. Oskido, DJ Bucks, Professor and Yuri Da Cunha (South Africa/Angola)
Best Hip Hop: Sarkodie (Ghana)
Best Alternative: Gangs of Ballet (South Africa)
Best Francophone: Toofan (Togo)
Best Lusophone: Anselmo Ralph (Angola)
Artist of the Year: Davido (Nigeria)
Song of the Year: “Khona” - Mafikizolo ft Uhuru (South Africa)
Best Video: Clarence Peters (Nigeria)
Best Pop: Goldfish (South Africa)
Best International: Pharrell
Personality of the Year: Lupita Nyong’o (Kenya)
MTV Base Leadership Award: Ashish J. Thakkar (Tanzania)
Transform Today Award by Absolut: Clarence Peters (Nigeria)

No comments:

Post a Comment