Auto ads

Tuesday 1 March 2022

MUSIC VIDEO: Adekunle Gold - Mercy



“The Nigerian singer has arguably the most purely beautiful voice in the Afrobeats scene. He puts his smooth yet earthy tones to seductive use here, with a swaying, deceptively simple chorus.” – THE GUARDIAN
“Adekunle Gold is back with another laid-back, body-swaying single.” – BILLBOARD
“His new single sounds like a victory lap.” – THE FACE


Following the release of his highly-anticipated new album ‘Catch Me If You Can’ last month, the ever popular Afropop sensation Adekunle Gold  today unveils the epic visual for his single ‘MERCY’.
Mixing futuristic sci-fi cinematography with classic Nollywood aesthetics, the thrilling DK-directed video builds on the song’s themes of Adekunle Gold triumphantly celebrating his evolution into a fully-fledged, international Afropop superstar, taking control of his journey and not allowing anything to dim his light.  The video also features a cameo from the legendary Nigerian Ghetto recording artist Baba Fryo whose popular 90s song ‘Dem Go Dey Pose’ is sampled on the track, which fuses energetic Afropop with tropical dancehall elements and slick electronic production courtesy of Blaise Beatz.
The single is taken from Adekunle Gold’s brand new album ‘Catch Me If You Can’ and features alongside new collaborations with an array of world-class talent including Ty Dolla $ign, Stefflon Don, Fatoumata Diawara and Fousheé and the hit singles ‘It Is What It Is’, ‘Sinner’ ft Lucky Daye and ‘High’ ft Davido.
Already taking the music world by storm with stellar production from the likes of Tay Iwar, Spax, Pheelz and Bigfish, the new album showcases more of Adekunle Gold’s signature, one of a kind combination of addictive melodies and razor sharp lyricism that has earned him a legion of fans across the world and 100s of millions of global streams.
One of the most recognisable and exciting pioneers of the vibrant Afropop genre, currently dominating airwaves across the globe – mixing Afrobeat with Pop, Hip-Hop and R&B influences, Adekunle Gold is one of the most elegant and innovative artists to come out of Africa.  With the arrival of his new album,  fans can experience more of an insight into Adekunle Gold’s personality – stylish, timeless and ground-breaking.

Catch Me If You Can’ tracklist

  1. ‘Born Again’ feat. Fatoumata Diawara 
  2. ‘Win’
  3. ‘Mase Mi’
  4. ‘One Woman’ feat. Ty Dolla $ign
  5. ‘Mercy’
  6. ‘More Than Enough’
  7. ‘Sinner ‘feat. Lucky Daye
  8. ‘Fye’ feat. Stefflon Don 
  9. ‘Sleep’
  10. ‘High\ feat. Davido 
  11. ‘Dior, Dior, Dior’ feat. Fousheé 
  12. ‘It Is What It Is’
  13. ‘Selah’
  14. ‘Catch Me If You Can’


About Adekunle Gold
Adekunle Gold is a Nigerian born and bred singer-songwriter based between Lagos, Nigeria, and Los Angeles. He gained recognition from his very first release, ‘Sade’ a love song which sampled instrumentals from One Direction's‘Story of My Life’. Just two weeks after its release,  Adekunle was contacted by one of Africa's biggest acts, Olamide, to join his music imprint for two years.
Since then, Adekunle has released 4 albums: Gold (debuting at #7 on the Billboard World Albums Chart), About 30 (shortlisted for the GRAMMY® Best World Album), Afro Pop Vol 1 - which has amassed a staggering 228 million plus streams and spawned the global hit records ‘Okay’ and ‘Something Different’-
- and now ‘Catch Me If You Can’.

No comments:

Post a Comment