Auto ads

Factory78 And WyldPytch EP VOL.2

Follow Us @Factory78

Friday, 3 June 2022

VIDEO: Adekunle Gold unveils NPR Music Tiny Desk performance, performs stunning versions of some of best loved hit records.

 



“The Nigerian singer has arguably the most purely beautiful voice in the Afrobeats scene. He puts his smooth yet earthy tones to seductive use here, with a swaying, deceptively simple chorus.” – THE GUARDIAN

“Adekunle Gold is back with another laid-back, body-swaying single.” – BILLBOARD

“His new single sounds like a victory lap.” – THE FACE


Coinciding with the first stop of his 19-city US and Canada tour in Boston today and kicking-off NPR Music’s Black Music Month, the must-see session filmed in LA inside a retro, faux airport terminal, sees Adekunle Gold performing, beautiful live versions of some of his best loved hit records from his latest album Catch Me If You Can and 2020’s Afropop Vol. 1.

Accompanied by a dynamic, live band for the soulfully enchanting renditions, showcasing his mesmerizing, world-class calls vocals and one-of-a-kind stage presence and lyricism, Adekunle Gold breathes new life into ‘Sinner’ ft Lucky Daye - with a beautiful strings section - alongside breathtaking performances of ‘Something Different’, ‘One Woman’ ft Ty Dolla $ign and ‘Okay’.

Marking his evolution into a fully-fledged, global music superstar, Adekunle Gold joins the likes of music icons Alicia Keys, Harry Styles, Coldplay and Anderson, Paak who have also turned in memorable performances for the coveted NPR Music Tiny Desk stage.

On his NPR Tiny Desk performance, Adekunle Gold commented:

“Music is my life, music has allowed me to communicate and music has showed me that there truly is no limit to creativity. I hope that as we celebrate Black Music Month, Black people in all our varieties of descent realise that there are no boundaries to what we can achieve and create. I hope that we truly see ourselves as the magical creators that we are. Thank you NPR and Tiny Desk for allowing me to create.”

Earlier this year, Adekunle Gold released his new album Catch Me If You Can, which has amassed a staggering 207 million streams and features collaborations with an array of top-tier talent including Ty Dolla $ign, Stefflon Don, Fatoumata Diawara and Foushe√© and the hit singles ‘It Is What It Is’, ‘Sinner’ ft Lucky Daye, ‘High’ ft Davido and ‘Mercy’. He takes his ‘Catch Me If You Can’ tour to the US and Canada through June and July and then to London’s O2 Academy Brixton on Sunday October 9th.

One of the most recognisable and exciting pioneers of the vibrant Afropop genre, currently dominating airwaves across the globe – mixing Afrobeat with Pop, Hip-Hop and R&B influences, Adekunle Gold is one of the most elegant and innovative artists to come out of Africa. With the arrival of his new album and his upcoming tour dates across the US, Canada and London, fans can experience more of an insight into Adekunle Gold’s personality – stylish, timeless and ground-breaking.

 
CATCH ME IF YOU CAN TOUR DATES: 

 
Thu Jun 02 – Boston, MA – Big Night Live
Fri Jun 03 – New York, NY – Apollo Theater
Sun Jun 05 – Montreal, QUE – Corona Theatre
Mon Jun 06 – Philadelphia, PA – The Theatre of Living Arts
Wed Jun 08 – Silver Spring, MD – The Fillmore Silver Spring
Thu Jun 09 – Cleveland, OH – The Cambridge Room at House of Blues
Fri Jun 10 – Toronto, ON – The Opera House
Sun Jun 12 – Minneapolis, MN – Varsity Theater
Tue Jun 14 – Atlanta, GA – Buckhead Theatre
Thu Jun 16 – Houston, TX – House of Blues
Fri Jun 17 – Dallas, TX – Echo Lounge & Music Hall
Sun Jun 19 – Denver, CO – Marquis Theater
Tue Jun 21 – Chicago, IL – House of Blues
Thu Jun 30 – Phoenix, AZ – Crescent Ballroom
Fri Jul 01 – Los Angeles, CA – Regent Theater
Sat Jul 02 – San Francisco, CA – The Fillmore
Mon Jul 04 – Seattle, WA – Neptune Theatre
Tue Jul 05 – Vancouver, BC – Commodore Ballroom
Fri Jul 08 – Edmonton, AB – Union Hall
Sun Oct 09 – London, UK – O2 Academy Brixton

No comments:

Post a Comment

Follow